The Neckerpoort is one of the five former gates of the old town of Purmerend.

When Purmerend was granted city rights in 1410, earthen walls were built around the town to keep out any enemy. Initially, four town gates were built, but a fifth was added after De Beemster was drained. Anyone who wanted to enter the city came through one of these gates, after paying the gate fee of course.

The old, wooden Neckerpoort was later replaced by a stone one. However, to make room for the North Holland Canal, the gate was demolished in 1818. In 2013, the New Neckerpoort was built opposite the location of the old gate, where a fine catering establishment offers a recognisable image of the inns once built around the city gates.

Also take a look at the information panel in front of the bridge.

Nearby

Skip map elements