Westerhem Agricultural Museum

The detached mansion (once inhabited by gentleman farmer, Mayor Hendrik Scheringa Az) and Westerhem stolp farm were built in 1877. In 1965 the municipality of Beemster bought the mover 17 ha large cattle farm for the purposes of providing homes and emergency classrooms for the secondary school. A few years ago, the farm was transferred to the Beemster Historical Society. After a thorough renovation in the spring of 2000, the stolp was set up as an agricultural museum and opened to the public on 1st June.

Typical for the North Holland stolp are the pyramid-shape and the location of the shed, barn and living room around the haystack: the square.  

The cattle shed consists of a long strip (summer shed and cheese dairy), short strip (winter shed) and adjoining stable. The (hay) loft is located above. The roof is covered with reed on the inside and rests on the square by means of beams. 

What’s unique about this farmhouse is the living room with bedstead for the help. Overview of wagons, carts, all sorts of tools, illustrations etc.

The marsh gas installation at Westerhem farm, where the museum is housed, is new. Since March 2003, Westerhem stolp farm has been designated by Beemster council as a wedding venue. 

Check the website for more information.

Sharing

Contact

Agrarisch Museum Westerhem
Middenweg 185
1462 HJ MIDDENBEEMSTER

Email information: info@historischgenootschapbeemster.­nl

Opening hours

Sunday:
14:00 - 17:00 hrs